Cry More, it’s Good for You

Photo by: Christian Franke

Crying does not correlate to weakness. Navigating your own emotions is not an easy feat and it takes time to understand what you are feeling. There are some things you feel that you may never be able to explain. Though sometimes it can be difficult to feel like your tears are validated, crying is always worth it and necessary.

Obviously everyone cries, but I think the more crying the better. I have been thinking about this concept a lot lately because I am a very emotional person and I have learned not to think too much when my emotions get the best of me. If I am holding back tears, my stomach starts to turn and I feel my chest getting heavy.  As stated by an article on AgingCare, crying is a natural response to negative emotions and a natural way to reduce emotional stress. There is a reason you feel more relaxed after a good cry! I can understand some people not wanting to let their guard down in front of others, but sometimes it is necessary. No matter how stupid you may think your crying is, it is not stupid. Your emotions don’t lie and you should listen to what they are saying. Crying is a good way to relieve stress and stay aware of yourself and what your body needs to recover from the tears to get to a happier mindset.

Another reason to let the tears flow, it’s good for your eyesight! According to an article on MedBroadcast, the moisture caused from crying helps keep your vision clear because it lubricates your eyes. Studies have also been done that show some people are more prone to crying than others if you are empathetic and relate to other people’s suffering. I am 100% a part of this category and there are pros and cons to being this type of person. Being emotional is not a flaw and I accept that quality with open arms and if you are like me, you should learn to love it to. Crying a lot is something that I wasn’t always comfortable with, but I realized that it made me feel good so why should I fight it? It feels so good to let all of the tension in your body go and be content with being upset. Even the happiest person has to let out the tears.

Keeping your sadness bottled up inside creates more tension and can lead to a bigger blow up in the future. Whether you feel tears coming on in public or when you’re alone, don’t be scared to let it out. When I am with someone who is upset I encourage them to just cry it out because it will help them feel better. No one should feel embarrassed or scared to cry when they feel that intense emotion no matter where they are or who they are with. If you haven’t cried on the T at least once….do you even live in Boston?

It may take one cry, two cries or thirty to feel better. However many tears it takes to help you feel better. Don’t question how you feel, but learn how to recover from the sadness. Listening to music may help calm you down, going for a walk in the fresh air, talking to someone you trust, or maybe just being alone and winding down. Find what makes you feel good and run with it. Though no one likes seeing anyone cry, it is important to encourage the tears if someone is holding back so they can experience the relief that follows. Crying is therapeutic, amazing, helpful, and emotional all at once.

The next time you feel tears welling up, welcome them with open arms. Happy tears, angry tears, sad tears…whatever it might be, let it flow and you will feel a lot better afterwards.  

Leave a Reply

