Heart Map Series: Mia

I can’t believe we are at the final post of the semester. It has been a great time working with these people and I wouldn’t trade this experience for anything else. I not only learned so much about the other bloggers, but about myself. As a second semester freshman, I’m definitely the newbie on the team, the rookie, but I think this has allowed me to really explore a ton of topics and not feel caged into a routine. This whole year has really allowed me to be free and find what I truly love. Below, you can see a few things that I have found really make up who I am and what I love.

Screen Shot 2017-04-25 at 7.37.44 PM

Feminism: I have always been for women’s rights, but this last year at Emerson a new fire has burned within me. I am no longer afraid to call someone out for a sexist comment or speak up if I feel as though I am in an uncomfortable/unfair situation. I hold this close to my heart because my whole life I have been surrounded by strong women who broke gender boundaries even though they had so many obstacles in their way. My Mother was told she shouldn’t go to college because “women don’t need education”, but she is attending college and finishing up her degree right now because she realizes it’s something she wants dearly in her life. I hope to aspire to this level of dedication to my dreams and feminism has a huge part in that and in who I am.

Traveling: I have been lucky enough to have parents who could afford to take me on family vacations. I have traveled since before I was a year old and haven’t stopped. It is something that I could never give up in life, traveling is adventure and I couldn’t imagine living a life without adventure.

Minnesota: Half of my family lives in Minnesota and even though I did not grow up there myself, I feel as if it is a second home. It’s where my childhood soul resides. It’s where I rode bikes, played tagged, rode four wheelers, and explored the woods. It’s where I fell in love with the outdoors and I could never let go of that.

Running: Running is literally the only thing that can shut up my constant stream of thoughts. It allows me to just focus on the run and the beauty that surrounds me. I don’t have to think about the paper due that week, how much laundry I have to get done, or the drama I have going on with friends. I can simply focus on my breath and it reminds me that at the end of the day none of that other stuff matters.

Dad: This man is my rock. Through high school, I only lived with him and he helped me through all the ups and downs, all the boy troubles, all the friend drama, all the college apps. Basically, I couldn’t have gotten through it without him and his unconditional support. Even though he is across the country I still view him as my rock. He’s the first one I call when things go array and I don’t ever see that changing.

Writing: To process my emotions I have to write them out. So writing for me isn’t just something that brings me joy, but something I have to do, something that keeps me sane. It is the best form of therapy I could ask for. Nothing brings me more joy than my choice to study it in college. It was one of the first decisions that I purely made for myself. It was not to impress my family or to make money down the line. It was just for me. I really hope it stays that way.

Friends: THESE PEOPLE ARE MY SOULMATES. They are the ones that always have my back. They are the ones who give me unconditional love and support. They know me better than anyone on this earth and I love them for that. They aren’t afraid to tell me I’m wrong or tell me that I’ll regret something down the line. They are the only people I feel as if I have to share every single detail of my day with because it’s simply something they want to know. They are the only people I can sit in silence with and feel truly comfortable with. They are the only people whose sole touch can change my entire mood. They are truly life partners and I can’t see a world without them in it.

Corgis: If there is an animal to sum up who I am, it would be a corgi. They are crazy hyper, filled with joy/love, and sometimes just weird as hell. Those a characteristics that I not only pin for myself, but are constantly pinned by friends, coworkers, classmates, and even strangers.

Coffee: One of my friends ask me how much coffee I drink in a day. I did the math thinking it would be no big deal. But, apparently, it correlates to twice the recommended dose of caffeine the average person is recommended to consume. So, yeah I love coffee.

Food: Food is not just food. It’s a way to connect with people, food holds culture. It can tell you what that person grew up on and it can even tell you that persons’ heritage. I love food, I specifically love Mexican food and that has everything to do with who I am. I am half Mexican and hold that food so close to my heart. This love for Mexican food only grew when I came to the East Coast and left behind my community. I don’t think that is a coincidence. I think it’s a way of me holding onto my culture, trying to keep it burning inside me.

Musicals: As a writer, I inherently love stories and musicals just blow me away. It is hard enough to write a story in prose, so I can’t imagine having to write that story to a catchy beat that is also somehow still achieving a story arch, deep characterization, all while still trying to convey your overall message. It is so impressive and just so darn lovely to watch and listen to.

California: This is where I am from, simple as that. I grew up on the beaches of Southern California, grew up blasting music down PCH (Pacific Coast Highway, grew up with the backdrop of so many other people’s dreams. It definitely has it’s downsides, like no amazing season, horrible transportation, and it’s share of snobby beach boys. But, it’s still my first home.

Laughter: If you ever have met me in person you know I laugh a lot. And by a lot, I mean all the time. Practically every sentence. It’s not a dainty laugh either. It’s a laugh that echoes through the room and makes heads turn. It’s loud just like the rest of my personality. But, I love it. It means I’m happy and I personally, that’s my main goal in life. So, as long as I’m laughing I know I’ve reached the top.

Positivity: If you can’t tell by the end of this piece, I’m a pretty positive person. I always try to look on the better side of life because why look at the worse? Being negative just doesn’t motivate me and can ruin my whole day. Being positive pushes me to be the best I can be and makes my day far more productive than it would have been if I just mopped around. This wasn’t always true and of course, I still have negative days, but actively deciding to be positive has changed so much of my life. I have far more good than bad days, I smile way more, and I write way more. I strongly believe that positivity breeds positive outcomes and I’d rather live a life filled with joy than pessimism.

Leave a Reply

