Heart Map Series: Jenn

After working on Atlas Blog all year, I feel absolutely honored to have worked with such an incredible team. Without the fabulous people on the Blog, I doubt I would have poured my heart and soul into each post.

This week, we have all created Heart Maps to give you all an insight into what we all value and love. Here is mine:

A lot of my heart map include parts that I have explored in past blog posts such as stationery, romantic comedies, Emerson College, Boston, food, my family, and dogs. Briefly, I love those topics so much – they are now a part of me even if stationery and food are inanimate objects. My family means the absolute world to me – I chose navy blue as it represents loyalty to me and I take my duty to my family very seriously. For me, I have made sacrifices to be with my family members not because I have to, but because I truly want to. They understand me through and through in a way that no one else can understand. Much like my family, dogs make me incredibly happy – they are cute, funny creatures that carry a super loyal bond to their families. I used metallic teal pen to label the dogs part as it makes that part of the heart regal. And if it wasn’t obvious, food is at the center of my world even if I once had a negative relationship with it.

For the rest of the heart map, I focused on these topics:

  1. Money
  2. Water
  3. The Sun
  4. Fashion
  5. Friends
  6. Music
  7. Comfort

I like to believe that these are my core principles nowadays. Although some of these might sound a bit superficial, there are real things behind each topic.

Money – I do not just want to get paid, I value working and my work ethic. I have been working and employed since the age of fifteen. Since then, I have just been used to working for my own money especially this year. I work 5-6 days a week and make enough money to support myself and to fund my trip to Japan in the summer time.

Water – I love drinking water, being in water and being near the water. I think there is a certain level of clarity and relative calm when you spend time by a body of water. Although that might be hard to find in the city, I have always felt my best by the water just because I seem to be the healthiest and calm when I get that interaction. Also, I get thirsty a lot and water is great.

The Sun – I am deficient in Vitamin D so I need as much sunlight as I can get. For me, the sun represents happiness and even if I hate sweating, I always feel best when the sun is high and shining. I think it makes everyone happy!

Fashion – I like shopping. I guess it’s a known fact but I like to see how everyone has a different sense of style. Being around people who are not afraid to show their personalities through clothing has always been an important factor for me. Even if I tend to have a pretty simplistic style, I like getting inspiration from those around me. And it has always been a dream of mine to go to New York Fashion Week – to watch the shows, take part of all of the promotional events, and to see the ins and outs of the one of the most important weeks in the Fashion world.

Friends – ugh, I love these people. I am someone who values close friendships and relationships. I like having closeness to my friends and having people to hang out with who lift me up, empower me to do better, and to make me laugh until I cry. I included the initials, ML, for my best friend Meagan — she’s the best and I adore her! (I would add more but let me not be extra)

Music – I like singing and dancing along. I really enjoy having music in my life because it lifts me up. I truly believe a good song has the power to change your entire day and to sum up how you feel on a certain day. Also, I think that a song can tell a story in a format that will change a narrative, a stereotype, a idea, and ultimately, the world.

Comfort – I LOVE MY BED AND MY COUCH. I think that being comfortable is a very important thing – if you are not comfortable with your surroundings, you will not be able to find a safe space for yourself.

I loved working on this heart map and loved my team even more! ā¤

 

Leave a Reply

