Can A Superhero Movie Really Be a “Good” Movie?

I love superhero movies, but I don’t love all superhero movies. For instance, although I’m a fan of most of the Marvel movies (as in, the films released by Disney-Marvel Studios), I was sorely disappointed by Avengers: Age of Ultron. I hated the romance added between the Hulk and Black Widow, which was a sub-plot that genuinely came out of left field. The movie, overall, felt like it was holding back from reaching its potential—because Disney was opting to save their best content for Avengers: Infinity War, set to be released in 2018. Though a fun movie that I enjoyed watching, Age of Ultron was a let-down, and that was the consensus I saw online as well.

On the other hand, one of my favorite movies of all time is Christopher Nolan’s The Dark Knight. This movie came out in 2008 and I still remember being dragged by a friend to see it at our local movie theater. After seeing it for the first time, I was amazed by just how good it was. It was dark, gritty; the acting was phenomenal. It was the second film in Nolan’s Batman trilogy and featured characters like Scarecrow, the Joker, and Two-Face. Even now, almost nine years since its release, The Dark Knight has stood the test of time. I might just be biased, but I’ll always admire how TDK revolutionized superhero movies for a modern audience.

Since the release of The Dark Knight, I’ve come to expect more from the superhero movies that get released, because comic books are an art and their book-to-screen adaptations need to be up to par. It’s become too easy for a studio to just release a new Batman or X-Men movie and expect that the movie will top the box office, regardless of the quality of the actual film. So, I scrutinize all comic book adaptation films closely, to the point where I’m probably harsher than I need to be.

Thankfully, a great addition to the superhero movie genre was recently released. If you haven’t seen Logan yet, then you need to get to the theater ASAP.

With Logan, there isn’t any need for me to be harsh in my review. In my opinion, it’s just a great movie. It’s what a Wolverine movie always needed to be, and it serves as a great send-off for Hugh Jackman, who has spent a good portion of his career portraying the clawed mutant. Though it’s rated R for a good reason, I don’t think Logan is ever overly gratuitous with its show of violence. At its core, it’s a somber and emotional film. If you don’t think a superhero movie can make you cry, then I challenge you to watch Logan.

Logan takes place in the distant future, in a world that has been almost entirely drained of mutants. The X-Men are gone, and the only characters remaining that film-goers would be familiar with are Logan aka Wolverine and an ailing Professor Xavier. Though Logan attempts to keep himself and Professor Charles Xavier in hiding, that becomes impossible when a young mutant, Laura, enters his life. In order to avoid spoiling anything, I will end my synopsis there. Just know that the acting from every cast member is superb and the suspense remains heightened throughout the movie. Not to mention Logan’s relationships with Charles and Laura are both incredibly touching.

If you’re looking for a movie that doesn’t sacrifice quality for excitement, then Logan should be your go-to, at least while it remains in theaters! 

Leave a Reply

