Celebrity Clothing Lines

credit: Tumblr
credit: Tumblr

I love clothes.

Yeah, I know that is a generic way of starting but I can honestly say a good article of clothing warms my heart. Although I am not a ~fashionista~ or anything of the sort, I know a good piece of clothing when I see it and I get so so excited whenever a celebrity releases their own range of clothing whether it be all types of clothes or just one form – it is all exciting to me.

credit: Pinterest
credit: Pinterest

To throw us all back to middle school, I remember when Miley Cyrus teamed up with Max Azria to release her brief collaboration at Wal-Mart. And let me tell you, I was LIVING my life as soon as I found out – I dragged my mom to our nearest Wal-Mart and scavenged the racks to find pieces that I wanted but I had one problem: there was nothing that would fit comfortably on my body even if it did say size 10 or size 12. After spending forty-five minutes trying things on and putting it all back, I remember leaving the store with only one shirt and a belt as the entire line was incredibly affordable but nothing really fit my bigger size.

credit: K-Mart
credit: K-Mart

Unfortunately, the same thing happened when Selena Gomez launched her Dream Out Loud line at K-Mart. Even if the clothes fit me a little bit better, the shirts and the pants did nothing to flatter my shape which bummed me out once more. Although Gomez’s line lasted for over 3 different season launches, the sizes never changed but I was able to get a pair of gloves that literally only lasted one winter because I wore them so much. Even my friends had trouble finding items in both ranges as the clothes did not fit right on their various body shapes but we all dealt with it as Miley Cyrus and Selena Gomez were our idols (even if we did not like to admit it aloud).

Nowadays, there are so many celebrity clothing lines. Just to name a few, there is Candie’s at Kohl’s which partners with different celebrities almost every year from Fergie to Lea Michele to Fifth Harmony and now Sarah Hyland. There is also Victoria Beckham’s self-named line that is premiering it’s newest collection at New York Fashion Week this spring. Jessica Simpson and Heidi Klum also have successful clothing lines partnered with retailers such as DSW and Macy’s. Each of these lines have different spectrums in terms of prices and sizes – I would say Candie’s has a decent size selection even if the price range might not be the best which is similar to Jessica Simpson’s and Heidi Klum’s lines.

However, over the past few months there have been new line launches: one from my favorite Khloé Kardashian, and Emma Grede, who released Good American Designer Denim and Jeans as the other came from my ultimate girl crush, Zendaya, who finally released DAYA BY ZENDAYA. Although I have not been able to get my hands on either brand, I did some research. For the most part, both lines have incredible size selections where every single body type will be able to find something that will look good and make them feel confident.

For an insight into Good American, Buzzfeed did a video which included Khloe Kardashian herself to see how her new line would make regular women feel as they wore her denim:

Almost all of the comments from the women in the video were overwhelmingly positive even if Good American jeans run in the price range between $130 and $300 from Nordstrom.

Following the same wavelength, Buzzfeed did another video exploring Zendaya’s line which included women from all shapes and sizes much like the Good American one:

A lot of the women liked the fact that Zendaya created a size-inclusive line that has unique clothing items which were created under her personal style. It was impressive to see that although the clothes are listed under letter sizes (XS, S, M, L, XL, XXL), the clothing is actually that size and does not run smaller or bigger. And her line is much more affordable than Good American – in fact, there was a 30% off sale this weekend due to Black Friday which cut the prices by a decent fraction where I could contemplate buying something myself.

I will always be a sucker for a good, celebrity clothing line. Although I love clothes in general, the added ~celebrity~ factor seems to make the clothing even more interesting to me. And even if I might not purchase clothes from any of the lines I mentioned, it does give me a piece of mind that if I ever decided to, I would be able to find something that fits, makes me feel good, and that would be on-sale during Black Friday!

 

Leave a Reply

