iCloudy with a Chance of Losing Your Documents

No documents to show.

No, no, no, no, no.

I was always told to back up my documents, but I felt like my computer was invincible. My documents are on the cloud. I don’t need to back them up. I don’t need a hard drive. I won’t lose anything.

I was wrong. I was so wrong.

It all started when I got the familiar menacing message on my phone. Storage almost full. Usually I start by deleting my photos because most of them either don’t matter or are uploaded to my laptop. I used to have Apple’s Pages app on my phone, but had since deleted it. Because of this, I thought it would be okay to delete all of the data on my phone connected with Pages. However, I couldn’t have been more wrong. Pressing that simple button deleted all of my documents in a split second and there was no turning back.images (8)

My dad always yells at me for not reading messages that pop up on my devices before I click. I could almost hear his voice in my head as I stared at my blank documents folder in Pages. “You should have read it and this wouldn’t have happened.”

Take this as a lesson from an unfortunate soul who learned it the hard way: back up your documents. I was slightly lucky, because most of my important documents were my writing and a lot of those are online or in my notes, so I actually didn’t lose as much as I could have. Either way, I’m saving everything on my computer from now on and I may use Dropbox or even buy a hard drive.

Technology has its pros and cons. On one hand, it’s very helpful. I couldn’t imagine life without Google to search which actor was in the movie I was watching, or FaceTime to call my brother back in New York. On the other hand, it has so much power and can delete all of your documents and completely ruin your life.

If losing your documents has unfortunately happened to you, or even if it hasn’t yet, here are some ways to deal with it.

Get an External Hard Drive

Toshiba_1_TB_External_USB_Hard_Drive

Hard drives can be pretty expensive, but they’re usually worth it. I usually see people get them if they have larger files such as videos and graphics they need to save, but they work for documents as well. Since I’m a writing major, I never thought it was worth it for me to get a hard drive, but after this incident, I might consider getting one.

Use Other Websites

imgres

Sites such as Google Docs, Dropbox, or even iCloud are helpful as long as they’re not the only thing you’re using. Make sure not to make the mistake I did and use a site like this in addition to saving everything on your computer. These sites are good as a back up, but they are not trustworthy enough to be your only source.

Save Everything Twice

imgres-1

I was always too lazy to save things multiple times, which is why I kept everything on iCloud. It was easier to have everything on it and then be able to access it across all of my devices then have to worry about where the most recent version of the document was saved and how I would be able to access it. I have already started to save everything to multiple folders on my computer as well as keep all of my files in iCloud. I’m not taking any chances from here on out.

There are probably more measures that can be taken to make sure your files are never eaten by the unforgiving iCloud monsters, but these are the easiest ways that I can think of and should keep your documents safe in most cases. Overall, you can never be too careful because technology sometimes fails and there’s nothing worse than sitting on the receiving end of a message that says, No documents to show.

Leave a Reply

