Movie Review: Pitch Perfect 2

Warning: mild spoilers below

I remember the first time I watched Pitch Perfect. I was crammed into a friend’s basement with about 12 other people, most of whom had watched it already. It was the night before my first SAT prep class. The basement was hot and everyone was screaming, but as soon as the movie started the entire room fell silent.

I remember the first time I watched Pitch Perfect 2. I was sitting alongside three of my friends in a dark movie theater and none of us had seen it yet. This was the first time seeing most of them since I got back from college. The theater was packed and everyone was yelling at whoever could hear us to raise the volume, but as soon as the movie started the entire room fell silent.

I think that’s the cool thing about watching movies. You can always remember where you were and who you were with when you first saw a movie. Different movies act as milestones, especially if it’s a series of movies. The movies you watch come at different points in your life. I watched the first movie as a junior in high school, and then the sequel my freshman year in college. A lot of things about my life changed, but the movies stayed a constant.

I was really excited for Pitch Perfect 2 and for the most part it didn’t disappoint. I thought the plot of the first one was a little more solid. This plot was a little all over the place. The Bellas wanted to win the World’s Acappella Competition and that was really all that was driving the plot. I felt like a lot of the relationships outside of the Bellas were undeveloped. Jesse and Beca were still dating, but since a large focus of the movie was on the Bellas this time and not the Treblemakers, the only time we ever saw him was during two scenes with the Treblemakers and then a few scenes where he was with Beca. They introduced a new character, Emily, who was very cute and a good singer and they partially developed a romance with her and Benji from the Treblemakers by adding a few scenes where they were both too awkward to hold a coherent conversation and then kissed at the end of the movie.

That was probably my biggest complaint about the movie. The rest of it was quite good. I enjoyed the music a lot from this one. I thought the campfire rendition of “You’re Going to Miss Me When I’m Gone” was really good and made me very nostalgic. The Bellas capture a kind of friendship that I’m sure a lot of the audience members will be able to relate to no matter their age. They may fight, but at the end of the day they’re all family and they love each other. The scene when they were all in the tent singing and laughing, as well as when they were all around the campfire talking about what they were going to do after college and how they were going to miss each other made me think of my own friends.

I thought the German group, Das Sound Machine, was incredible, though I was a little confused as to why they were singing in English when the rest of the groups at the World’s were singing in their own languages. The music, like I said before was really good. The Bella’s version of “Flashlight,” by Jesse J, was another one of my favorite songs, and I was a little upset to find that their version of it is not on the soundtrack.

I left this movie, wanting another movie but knowing that since the Bellas have all graduated from college we’re probably not getting another one. I really enjoyed this movie and recommend it to people of all ages. It’s definitely a movie I would go see again.

Leave a Reply

