Holiday Cheer

By November, you’d expect stores to clear out their stock of candy and start selling things for Thanksgiving. It’s the next major holiday, after all.

Wrong.

It’s November 1st. The sleigh bells are jinglin’ and the stores are stocked with holiday merchandise. Every radio station plays “White Christmas” and “Home for the Holidays,” and you know if you hear the word “snow” one more time you might just go insane.

When is it too early to start? Is all of this excessive? It’s not even Thanksgiving and the holiday season is already in full swing. Should they wait until after November to officially start the holiday cheer?

I suppose I’m not really the best person to offer an answer to this question. I, for one, spread the holiday cheer whenever the mood strikes me. My friends often complain, “It’s completely inappropriate to be singing ‘Jingle Bells’ in July.” What can I say? If it’s stuck in my head, I just sing it.

Sometimes I think the holiday cheer in November is overkill, but I do understand it. There are no Thanksgiving songs and there’s a very limited selection of things to sell for Thanksgiving. You can sell Thanksgiving food, but there’s not much else in the other areas of merchandise. Of course stores are going to start selling the holiday items as soon as possible; it’s a way for them to make money. But I do see the annoyance in it all at times.

I’m a pretty optimistic person (or at least I like to think I am). So I do enjoy all of the Christmas songs and the pretty holiday displays in windows and the overall feeling that washes over everyone in the months of November and December. But like any person, I also recognize the downsides.

Christmas carols are only fun for a little while. There are only so many times you can hear “Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer” without wanting to smash your radio. Also, while the holidays are a pretty enjoyable time, they also bring a lot of stress. There’s the shopping for presents and the stress to get everything done before break and the little nagging fear that probably sticks in the back of your mind because you have to see your family over the holidays; even the ones you really don’t want to see. (Don’t lie. Everyone has those.)

That being said, is it easy to understand how annoying it may be to have Frosty the Snowman on every single channel when you haven’t even carved the turkey yet? I think the best thing to do is to just take it lightly. The holidays are supposed to be fun and as stress-free as possible. So if you find yourself wanting to lash out at “Dominick the Donkey” (which, I’m not going to lie, is probably my favorite Christmas song) then you should take a deep breath and realize it’s probably stemming from something a lot deeper than the donkey.

No matter how stressful the holidays may seem, you’ll get through them if you just try to enjoy yourself. So kick back with a cup of hot cocoa and try to get into the holiday spirit. After all, it does start in November.

Leave a Reply

