Sweater Weather

All jokes about infinity scarves and pumpkin spice lattes aside, fall is actually a wonderful time of year. I love the brisk air outside, which makes it feel so much cozier when you curl up under a blanket with a good book. I also love that the start of fall means that soon, it will be time for the string of back-to-back holidays to help you slide through end of the year and to start the next year off right.

One of the best things about fall, though, is the clothes. All of my favorite clothes are fall clothes, largely because they’re the perfect combination of comfortable and fashionable. Unlike the summer, where you frequently have to choose between looking like a put-together human being and staying cool, the colder weather allows you a little more choice with your clothes. You don’t have to worry about getting too hot; you can wear as many layers as you want to! And, on the other hand, it’s not so cold out that you have to bury yourself under layers and layers, like you do in the winter. I also like fall style more in general; it tends to be a little more subdued and a little more classic. These factors combined make it a lot easier for me to up my game a little in the fall.

With that in mind, here are some of my favorite fall fashion items in particular.

Pea Coats
I bought my first pea coat as a teenager at a Filene’s Basement going-out-of-business sale. I wasn’t sure if it was exactly my style while I was looking at it on the rack, but my mother encouraged me to try it on anyway. I fell in love immediately. After a childhood of big, puffy, marshmallow-like snow jackets, there was something glamorous about wearing a pea coat. It looked almost like it came from another time, and it made me feel more dignified–a feeling that’s sometimes hard to come by as a teenager.

Now I have a couple of pea coats in my fall and winter arsenal. I really like them, not only because they keep me warm in the cold Boston weather, but also because I feel like they add a touch of sophistication to my wardrobe.

Sweaters and Cardigans
I’m obsessed with sweaters. If I could spend all year wearing sweaters, I would. (And I do.) I really love big, chunky sweaters, many of which you can find at stores like H&M and Forever 21 for pretty cheap. They’re casual enough to be worn with a nice pair of jeans (my go-to on school days) but they can also be dressed up easily with a nice statement necklace.

I am also a huge fan of the sweater’s not-too-distant cousin, the cardigan. I’ve always loved them, whether they’re to touch up a jeans-and-a-tee-shirt ensemble or to go along with a nice dress. My favorite cardigan is a big, thick grey one. I usually wear it with dresses, but it’s also comfortable enough that I wear it around my room in the fall just to stay warm. (As you can probably tell, I am a big fan clothes that are versatile and can be dressed up or down.)

Boots
It’s a strange correlation: the older I get, the more I love boots. I’m not sure why. I was always a sneaker girl when I was a kid, and then I went through a deep, teenage love affair with Uggs*, and now I’m very into much nicer boots.

My favorite boots are my black combat boots I bought off the Internet, but I also have a pair of high-heeled brown boots from American Eagle that I love. I’m also becoming obsessed with classic-looking ankle boots, which just fit so well with any outfit.

*Well, they’re $20 Ugg copycats from Old Navy, but I won’t tell if you won’t. And let’s be honest: my love affair with Uggs will never end. I can’t help it! They’re so comfortable! They’re my lazy day shoes.

Makeup
I don’t usually go very heavy on the makeup; I usually just go for some mascara and possibly some eyeliner, and then foundation or BB cream if my complexion is looking wonky. In the fall, however, I do have one more glorious product that I like to use, and that product, friends, is called “Nic Cage Raking Leaves on a Brisk October Afternoon”.

It’s an eye shadow from Shiro Cosmetics, a small and beautifully geeky online makeup company. Some of their other nerdy-themed eye shadow shades include “TARDIS” (a shade of blue like the Doctor’s spaceship) and “Yzma’s Essence of Llama” (from The Emperor’s New Groove, obviously.) But the crowning jewel of my makeup collection is “Nic Cage Raking Leaves on a Brisk October Afternoon,” which is a dark brown shade with hints of gold and orange. It is just as glorious as the name sounds. (And, all jokes aside, it’s actually a really great product and a beautiful color.)

As you can tell, there’s a lot of clothes and styles that I’m excited to break out of the closet this October. Nothing says fall like hot drinks, good books and cool and comfy clothing. (At least until it starts snowing, at which point you can probably find me hiding under ten blankets, flannel pajama bottoms and a hoodie until it gets warm again.)

Leave a Reply

