In Defense of the Pumpkin Spice Latte

I can practically see you rolling your eyes already and picturing me sitting in front of my laptop, sipping on orange, frothy goodness from Starbucks, wearing yoga pants and Uggs and cradling a small baby pumpkin. Even though that is not what I look like currently, I would not mind finding myself in that situation.

I don’t know when fall favorites became so humorous. I can’t even dream of walking down Boylston Street with my Pumpkin Spice Latte without getting at least two or three snarky comments. People laugh when they see the pumpkin sitting on my windowsill and joke about how stereotypical I am. I even get sly remarks when I wear big flannels and combat boots. Yes, I love fall! What’s so bad about that?

I think the Pumpkin Spice Latte is wonderful. It is warm, tasty and festive. It’s exactly what I need to pick me up after a long and chilly day of classes and activities. Big sweaters are just so comfortable and cute, and there’s no way around it! And yes, my riding boots do keep my feet warm and make me feel like I just stepped out of a J. Crew catalog. So don’t mind if I do.

There’s also just something so wonderful to me about seeing pumpkins and other fall trademarks all around my suite and dorm room. These things remind me of my childhood when I would roll around in the leaves on Halloween and then take my jack-o’-lantern bucket and try to milk the elderly of my neighborhood for as many Kit Kats as my little stomach could handle.

Fall is my hometown through the lens of a seven-year-old. Fall is the warm relief of a warm cup of coffee and hot chocolate after a brisk day. Fall is being surrounded by the color of orange even though it looks horrible with my complexion.

So yes, I love fall and I love pumpkins. And I love the Pumpkin Spice Latte so much that if you were to cut me during the months of September through January, I would bleed orange, frothy goodness. Fall is our friend; let’s all try to embrace it a little bit more.

Leave a Reply

